JDE & Associates


13794 W. Waddell Rd.
Ste 203 – 189
Surprise, AZ 85379

970-231-5423
Toll Free:
866-767-3619



Receive FREE newsletters with helpful hints weekly.

Estimating Tips
Management Tips
Supervisors Tips
Free every week.

Enter your email address
to subscribe,
then push submit.

Email MarketingYou Can Trust

JDE & Associates Testimonials

We never pass out full names or contact information. If you would like we can share the entire evaluation from these students for you to get an idea of the material we teach. Contact us using our contact us form on this website and we can forward those evaluations to you.

Jamie (Tennessee)
April 24 to June 15, 2015

Even if you think you don’t need a hand written estimating class, trust me you do, it’s almost like going back into the field for a refresher.

Course taken was, Fundamental Estimating Home Study.

Jeff (Tennessee)
April 7 to June 9, 2015

This course is taught by one of the best and most experienced men in the field, the knowledge and insight gained each week is priceless. Having the good foundational techniques taught through this course will greatly improve your skills and carrer as an estimator.

Course taken was, Fundamental Estimating Home Study.

Art (California)
April 2015 to June 2015

I really enjoyed this estimating class, I wish I would have taken it 6 months before I started my electrical contracting business, a must if you are going into the electrical contracting business. Thanks James

Jose (Texas)
January 2015 to March 2015

The class was something new to me. I thought I already knew what I was doing was right, but with this class it helped me understand estimating the right way, how to look at the drawing and bid better then what I was doing before I took this class.

Course taken was, Fundamental Estimating Home Study.

Jamie (Tennessee)
December 2014 to February 2015

I am always looking at how to improve on how I do my job and Jim has opened my eyes to different ways to do just that. With as much experience as he has in the industry, and in life it would be foolish not to listen and take in the information, and use the tools of a successful man. Thanks Jim.

Course taken was, Contractors Guide for Success – Project Management Home Study.

Daniel (California)
September 2014 to November 2014

Jim adjusted to my lack of experience with electrical estimating. He took me through the fundamentals of estimating. He has a unique way of teaching the takeoff and providing the experience of a bid review. What you put in, you will get out. He taught me the fundamentals of the takeoff from start to finish.
Thank you Jim

Scott (Maine)
January 2014 to April 2014

I enjoyed both classes I have taken from Jim. Jim was a down to earth instructor and had a lot of useful information. He taught me everything I know about estimating.

Courses taken were, Home Study Fundamental Estimating and Supervisor Training.

Update, June 6, 2014

Jim,
I am still in the office estimating and loving it. I really did have a great time with your class. I Have landed five jobs so far worth a total of $400,000. I am waiting to hear back on four more jobs right now that I am in the running for and it could put me over 750,000 for the year. I go into the office every day and treat it like a game. I appreciate everything. Thanks again. Oh yeah, I know I suck at RFI’s.

Steve (Maine)
January 2014 to March 2014

I found this course to be very helpful. Some items were just a reinforcement of what I have learned through experience. Things I wish I had seen or learned years ago, coming up in the trade. I would like to have seen a little more statistical reinforcement of the data being trained, rather than just in conversation. The instructor was willing to hear me out on my opinions, and when he felt I was wrong, he explained why. All in all, I felt this was a great course, and would be of value to anyone in a management role in the industry.

Course taken was, Contractors Guide for Success – Project Management Home Study.

Jeb (Michigan)
October 2013 to December 2013

The home study course with Jim Duff was very informational and very helpful in getting me started in the field of electrical estimating. Jim is very knowledgeable and has a unique way of teaching by example which allows you to see how the material is applied in the real world. Overall 10 out of 10 and I highly recommend this course to anyone entering this field or wanting to further their training and overall knowledge. Thanks Jim?

Course taken was, Home Study Fundamental Estimating.

Kevin (Connecticut)
October 2013 to November 2013

Jim is a true motivator who cares about the success of others, a great coach indeed.

Course taken was, Home Study Fundamental Estimating.

Mike (Chicago)
October 2013 to November 2013

I have been active in the electrical industry for over 27 years, starting in electrical maintenance, serving a five year apprenticeship and in business for myself for the past 8 years. I have taken many courses and classes and I found JDE by chance. I knew after speaking with Jim, that I had to take his Project Management class. It was one of the best decisions I made since being in our industry. Jim always makes the class interesting and will tailor the class to your needs. Jim will make sure you understand before moving forward and the knowledge he offers is the best I have ever found and acquired. I would like to take the estimating class in the future to learn new skills that I hope Jim will share. – Jim, you are an original. Keep up the good work and thank you again for everything.

– Course taken was, Contractors Guide for Success – Project Management Home Study.

Sean (Minnesota)
August 2013 to October 2013

This class I would strongly recommend for any and all looking to be successful in the Electrical Estimating World! Jim is very knowledgeable, brings real expectations to the class like there are in this job role, is very persistent in trying to help you and your company become more successful in the direction you are striving to move towards. He is relentless in showing you your weaknesses (which we all have and sometimes holds us up) in what you are doing, yet in the same manner points out the good in what you have achieved and the importance of setting goals in your life first and job second. I would hands down take this class again and it is truly a steal for what is offered. Thank you Jim! I will be in touch through email and RFI.

Jake (Wisconsin)
March 2013 to June 2013

After twenty years of estimating electrical projects, I thought I knew it all. Mr. Duff’s methods have opened new paths for my firm that has already started to pay dividends. It is not true that you can't teach old dogs new tricks, Mr. Duff has proved that to me. Thanks, I will be back for the project management class soon.

Gary (Wyoming)
February 2013 to April 2013

I found Jim’s method of teaching very beneficial and challenging. I had some hesitation going into the class as I had been removed from the electrical trade for some time, but he was thoughtful and thorough about the approach to my situation. This fundamentals class is certainly beneficial to a “newbie” to estimating and to those who perhaps picked up the trade without the benefit of being taught by a person very well rounded in the electrical trade.

Jimmy (Alabama)
May 2012 to July 2012

I recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn the fundamentals of electrical estimating. It is a class that takes you from start to finish in the basics of manual estimating techniques and covers a vast amount of real life electrical experiences in between. James Duff, the instructor, is a great teacher and really puts a lot of time and effort into his class. It is well worth the price of the class, and I honestly don’t know how he offers the class as cheap as he does, considering the time he spends on each student. I guess he is just living up to his mission statement which states, We Get to help people succeed!

Thanks, Jimmy

Jackie (Philadelphia)
July 2011 to October 2011

This was a great and fun course, I enjoyed it very much. I am walking away with the confidence to better my career in the electrical industry. I am going to miss it very much.

– Course taken was, Home Study Fundamental Estimating.

Mark (Arkansas)
July 2011 to October 2011

I took Jim’s Fundamental Estimating class with absolutely no experience in the electrical trade. He was totally prepared for a student with my lack of experience and tailored the instruction to accommodate my level of understanding. He is a gifted instructor who delivers the course material in a high energy, professional manner. I would recommend this class to anyone wanting to improve their personal productivity, improve their electrical estimating skills and improve their career in the electrical contracting industry.

Chet (Connecticut)
December 2010 to February 2011

I highly recommend Jim to anyone looking to hone or improve their estimating skills. His sessions are tailored to show each individual student his or her weaknesses. Jim goes far beyond the standard teaching syllabus.

Will (Michigan)

We have taken the electrical estimating and project management classes offered by JDE and Associates and are currently working with Jim to fine tune our business. They bring a wealth of knowledge and new ideas to the table. The reference materials alone are worth the price of the course.

Travis (Alaska)
December 2010 to January 2011

It’s nice to know there is someone that is extremely knowledgeable and is willing to share their experience with people (not just for profit), I highly recommend this course. Great job Jim and thanks again, you have made a difference in the way I run my division!

– Course taken was, Contractors Guide for Success – Project Management Home Study.

Chris (St. Claire, MI)
December 23, 2010

I wish that I was a great originator of salient prose so that I could properly describe the respect that I have for the expertise and integrity I have noted while working with Jim Duff. In all of my years in the industry, I have never met anyone that holds such a keen insight into the craft of estimating, project management and electrical contracting. Ever since taking his class almost four years ago, I know that I can still contact him with whatever questions or concerns I may hold about a particular project. Whether it is a rudimentary question that may have slipped my mind, or a complex question that requires research, he has never let me down. I am more confident and consistent in my estimating, only because of the knowledge that I have gained through my alliance with Jim Duff. Although I am the only estimator in the company, I have always felt as though I had an estimating partner that I could turn to when I am seeking some direction. I'm sure that it is self–evident that I would highly recommend any service provided by Jim Duff. Whether someone has been in this industry 25 minutes, or 25 years like me, you will learn tricks and techniques from him that you will not find from any other source.

– Course taken was, Fundamental Estimating in Warren, MI in April, 2007

Justin (Colorado)
December 2 to March 3, 2010

Mr. Duff’s class was challenging and very informative. This class really opened my eyes to area’s I hadn’t considered in terms of estimating and management of jobs. The class was fun! I enjoyed it!!

Robert (Minnesota)
July 7 to October 22, 2009

Jim Duff is a one of a kind Estimating and Project Managing trainer. I was fortunate to find Jim via an internet search. It was like finding gold!!!! I was new to the world of electrical estimating and I was feeling very overwhelmed. Jims' estimating course really gave me a good starting point and more confidence to start estimating more projects. I have also hired Jim to teach me about project managing. He has a very broad knowledge of the electrical industry and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to someone who is serious about furthering their knowledge about the electrical industry.

Bob (Nebraska)
June 6 to August 8, 2009

Without any doubts, the estimating and project management courses were very educational and informative. Being new to the electrical contracting industry, I lacked the estimating fundamentals that are so essential for survival in this industry. I had read and studied several electrical estimating books before I took this course and never gained the knowledge I needed to confidently estimate a job. JDE & Associates provided me with a wealth of knowledge and information to properly estimate and manage electrical projects. They gave me new hope and confidence in electrical estimating and project management. Plus, a great education.

Jimmy (Georgia)
March 15 to June 15, 2009

Had one on one with the instructor and discussed a vast array of topics – all pertinent.

Laura (Texas)
October 29, 2008 to February 28, 2009

Mr. Duff was timely in weekly phone calls, and upbeat with a fun personality. His knowledge in the trade is superior and he has the ability to teach with real-life applied practice and experience. I would recommend this course to the motivated individual who wants to advance in their electrical career or to gain more knowledge in the electrical trade. Estimating allows you to view a potential job from an employer’s perspective when pricing, and to understand why all components i.e. overhead, profit, and labor burden are vital when the estimate is put together.

Dave (Michigan)
February 5 to March 31, 2008

Signed up to learn the basics of electrical estimating, this class was just what I needed. The communications was great. Jim spent plenty of time working with me to make sure I understood the process.

Seth (Colorado)
January 5 to February 28, 2008

After taking the estimating course I am a lot more organized and confident when performing a take off. Thank you JDE & Associates.

David (California)
Class Fundamental Estimating completed in October, 2007

I had the pleasure of attending a training seminar put on by James. At the time I had three young estimators each with less than 6 months experience that I was developing. The seminar reinforced all of the moral, ethical and common sense principals I was trying to instill. I have stayed in touch with James and enjoy his insight into our industry. Thank you,

Adam (Colorado)
Webinar Fundamental Estimating completed in 2005

Jim transformed the way I view estimating and the way I run my business. Jim comes from a strong commercial background, bidding jobs that run into the millions. I run a small residential service company, but the tools Jim gave me work whether you’re bidding a million dollar job or a $500 dollar job. Any contractor struggling with bids, MUST CALL JIM

Get Your Web Site Now!
Web Site Developed by:
Evolution Computers